Vapor In the Wind

the pouring rain that’s splashing into my balcony tonight is like sharp needles plunging at my heart.

my bag is packed with 2 sets of wrinkle shirts and skirts. ready to leave…for my friend’s funeral…

a man whom i respected and admired…

a man whose smile and playful laughter gave me comfort…

a man who used to pat me in the back and give me a hug when i failed…

a man i so looked up to as my taekwondo coach and a brother…

…passed on into the realm where he will know of no pain and sorrow…

…the place where i cannot go…

although i haven’t been in touch with him since i gave up taekwondo for almost 10 years now, he has always been a hero to me. encouraging, supportive, positive and believing in the best of the people around him, he won the trust and hearts of so many students.

there was one evening i was so upset at myself because i couldn’t play as well as i wanted to…and i felt like i failed myself, my team and my coach. as i was walking down the steps, he ran hurriedly towards me, put his arm around my shoulders and said, “hey, it was okay. you did great.” he earned a place of respect, trust and brotherly love t in my heart that night. not like many other coaches, i wasn’t scared of making mistakes. all i had to do is to commit to doing my best.

when mom broke the news to me this afternoon, i wasn’t sure i heard it right. i was like, “come again, mom?” even though it was so crystal clear that there was no other. stumbling through tears that were uncalled for, i weakly asked, “how?”.

car accident.

he loved motorbike racing as much as he loved life and God. and he died with his beloved.

the force of death scares me. it’s like…there’s that deep dark chasm…and when one falls into it…there’s no coming back. every time i hear of any death news…whoever it might be…a chunck of my heart is stripped away.

only Jesus’ love and resurrection that heal and give me hope. for i know that through death, He has gone to hell and declared to the evil power in the dark dominion that whoever is in Him and believes in Him shall not perish and suffer through eternity. instead, whoever believes in Him will have eternal life and be raised again. Jesus proclaimed life.

and that’s my hope and prayer for those who are lost. that they’ll never fall into the dark deep pit and never come back to life again.

be reminded always that we are only vapor in the wind…

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

One response to “Vapor In the Wind

  • Sharon

    Mink, I am sorry for your loss. It is such a hard thing to deal with. There are no words to say that will help, only that I care and pray God’s comfort on you and his family. A scripture that comes to mind is Philippians 4:7 “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

