In Life’s Seasons

with questions and anxiety in my mind, it is difficult to get a clear picture of what God is doing in my life. when i am focused on MY needs and MY-self, i push Him aside. that is when the world becomes messy, out-of-order and hopeless.

but i came across this devotional reading from my hymnal book. it talks about the seasons of one’s life, how they are filled with one’s own matters, and how God comes and be the Ruler of the person.

despite my worry about the guy and my heartbreak for the poor, i want to obtain the peace only Jesus can give – that is through letting the Spirit fill me up in every waking moment of my days on earth. when one surrenders and lets God have full control, there comes acknowledgement of the Lord’s sovereignty, praise, joy, peace, trust, hope and obedience of faith.

if this is all one ever needs, why do we want more?

In Life’s Seasons

God for all seasons,

who gives summer’s warm breezes the crispness of autumn,

who lays upon earth’s breast the snows of winter,

who makes streams flow in springtime,

who in summer calls forth to fruit the sleeping folds of nature,

be the God for all seasons of my life:

days of joy and nights of sorrow,

weeks of anxiety and years of patience,

life time of work and play,

the eternity of Thy grace.

some of my days fly by with creative work or relaxation;

others linger with their tiring requirements.

some days i would cling to with joy;

others i would cast away with vengeance.

some days escape me through the work to be done;

others never seem to end.

strengthen me to live all my days not only in the time it takes to live them

but with the peace and patience necessary.

save me from the waste of today caused by wanting tomorrow.

help me to stop fighting against time and tide.

cleanse me of anxiety so i may take my days in stride.

shed Thy Spirit upon me so i may cease worrying about the mysteries of my life

and wholly enjoy the blessings i can count.

lead me in my waking moments so i may conquer life rather than complain about it.

comfort me in my resting moments so i may be strengthened in soul and body for the living of the next day given to me by Thy providence.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

