In Any And Every Circumstance…

“i have learned in whatever state i am, to be content.” apostle paul

philippians is one of my most favorite books in the bible. every time i read it, there is encouragement. when i am down, these words uphold and assure me that i am not alone on the journey of faith. apostle paul wrote this letter while he was imprisoned in rome. i can only imagine how terrifying it must have been for him, especially with the prospect of being executed.

but his faith wasn’t shaken. he said, “in any and every circumstance, i have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. i can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (phil. 4:12-13)

as i pondered on this word, it came back to surrendering myself and yielding my will to Jesus again. if i held so much the things of this world to myself, where would be the space for the Holy Spirit?

thus, i am giving my longing to Him. in my emptiness of heart, i am letting myself open for the Spirit to fill me up…with joy, peace and hope that pass all understanding.

in any and every circumstance, the joy of the Lord is my strength.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

2 responses to “In Any And Every Circumstance…

  • butch4him

    Thanks for the post – a great reminder of one of the basics of the Christian life. It reminds me that it is time for me to re-read Thy Will Be Done On Earth by Russell for about my 10th time. The basics of the Christian life are so simple yet so complex. We all need regular reminders. God bless you.

    • Minkster

      hi butch4him, thank you for stopping by. yes, sometimes i feel like i’m talking about the same thing over and over again. and it seems boring. but it’s the way to go for me…and i’m sure many of us too. 🙂

      you seem to be a great reader.

Leave a Reply

