Journal From the Mountains: Part II

October 6, 2010

Eventually…that’s the word I can think of right now. Today has been long. I woke up at 6:30 feeling chilly. The temperature in the morning and at night here is around 20-21C, which is nice. But if you come from the city where it’s been mostly 25-28C, it’s some adjustment. I had a great time in the morning with God. I am now doing a “love dare” journey. The Love Dare is from the movie “fireproof”. It’s the journal given to a husband whose marriage is falling apart. He has 40 days to accomplish all the dares written in the book. I wouldn’t spoil the end for you if you haven’t watched it. But I’m going to say here that you can’t truly love someone unless you “know” the Love Himself.

Why am I on this “love dare” quest when its focus is on married couples? Here’s what I wrote in the 1st chapter of the book:

“I know that this love dare may not suit my marital status well. But I still want to learn how to be a better person who’s filled with love and wisdom anyway…There’ll be certain things I can’t accomplish at all. But that’s ok…I just want to see how biblical love can change one’s life and attitude. Ultimately, I want to see how it will change me.”

Today was about patience. 1 Thessalonians 5:15 says, “See that no one repays another with evil for evil, but always seek after that which is good for one another.” Although patience is my strength, there is always limit. I’m usually not doing well when people ignore me. That’s one of my weaknesses. That’s when my patience is being tested. But I’m not one to throw a fist or get angry. Instead, I start a cold war. If someone ignores me, I will ignore him or her. I guess it’s a way to guard my feeling and protect myself from being hurt. Indifference is safer.

But that’s not what the Lord wants me to approach this kind of situation. Although the deed itself wasn’t evil “evil”, I was taking revenge. It was selfishness. So I learned that instead of putting my guard up, I should look for their reasons for being in another light. Instead of judging them so quickly, I need to be praying for them with patience. It’ll be hard when I get the cold shoulders. But who says love is easy, hey?

So that was a bit of insight to my mind today. ^^

Anyway, we spent most of our days at TH285. I’ve been here a couple of times before so it was like a little reunion. This time I can speak more Karen so it was neat to communicate to the staff with what little I have. It was delightful to say something and people actually understood it! Felt good.

There were many activities going on in the afternoon such as worship, flowers-arranging, Karen class, English class, Computer class, CSP session and soccer. I took a whole lot of pictures…and I didn’t even realize it until I pressed “display” and saw 300+ on my camera. I just finished deleting some blurry pictures.

Tomorrow will be a late start as the next project is just 5 minutes away. It’s TH977. Another reunion. Tehehe. I look forward to it. Also, I’m excited that I’ll go home tomorrow. Ahhh…I’m not very good at being away these days. You know, it’s fun and all being on a trip like this. And when I work, my mind is focused. But when work’s over, and I’m left alone in the room, that’s when I long for my people. You know the feeling.

Well, it’s ten to 9:00PM. But I’m already sleepy. So I’ll say “Na Ler Ghay”…

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

