Journal From the Mountains: Part I

October 5, 2010

We arrived safely at 6:00PM. We were practically cruising all the way here since our driver is one of the locals. God is so good to us. There was no rain at all while we were on the road. Only strong wind coming after us or the sign of wet road, which means the rain came before us.

I’m now in my own room, listening to a Karen song, feeling at home. The weather is so cool. The mountains are beautiful. I just love it. There are certain people I already miss. But I know that the Lord is with me…and that this is going to be a great time of getting in touch with Him too. I look forward to it.

We are going for dinner in 5 minutes. 

8:50PM

I was bumped from a 300-Baht room to a 600-Baht hut because there are 3 guys coming to stay up on my floor. So the owner, very kind of him, asked if I’d like to move to a hut as it might be more convenient and I wouldn’t have to share the bathroom with the men. With grateful heart, I accepted the offer…though a bit reluctant. Being up on the floor felt more secure to me…I don’t know why. The hut I’m sleeping in is placed in a middle of nowhere, or at least that’s how it looked to me tonight when everything’s dark and slippery. But I can’t deny that it’s much more convenient as I don’t have to worry about locking my room before going to the bathroom. We’ll see how everything is when there’s light.

Today was kinda long. I’m up here hosting a business visit for a marketing staff from Australia. But to me, it feels like I’ve come here for camping with 3 friends and meeting old friends at the projects. Although I’m not that close to these people, the laid-back nature of the trip makes it feel like a fun trip. I don’t know how things will turn out to be tomorrow. Yet I trust that God will do great things through us all. I look forward to it.

But I also miss my church and youth group. Is it going to be like this for a long time, this pining? Before, I had no problem finding something else to do during the weekend. Maybe travel somewhere. Not attending church wasn’t a big deal. I could find a church to attend on the spot. But after I’ve committed to the Karen church, it’s like I have a family. I don’t want to leave them for very long although I may not play a crucial part in it (I know everyone is important and plays a big part in each other’s life…but you get the idea. Some people can’t be somewhere else because they are leaders and can’t afford to miss it). My maximum limit for not attending this church service is only once a month. It’s quite challenging for a person with traveling hours like me. But I believe that if it’s God’s will for me to be there, He will find time for me to go there as often as I can.

Anyway, there is really no point in writing for today except that I need to find something to do. Plus, I think it’ll be a good journal entry on my blog. So I’m going to end here and say good night to you all.

I hope someone is praying for me.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

One response to “Journal From the Mountains: Part I

Leave a Reply

