Just…Saturday :)

it’s saturday and i’m up! 🙂 why is it that waking up early during the weekend is much easier than the weekdays? i guess it’s my normal wake-up time, 7:00-7:30 but the fact that my work starts at 8:00am makes me feel like i’m running late most of the time. hehehe.

i haven’t been able to fill water into bottles for my fridge this past week. so i’m left with a box of apple/ cranberry juice. i also had to throw the milk that was expired since october 1. usually, i keep the expired stuff in my fridge for a couple of days after as they can stay eatable, though not totally fresh. but i guess this time is a bit too long. hahaha thus, this is my breakfast: a cup of juice, a bag of cheese & onion potato chips and whole-wheat crackers with the goober peanut butter-chocolate spread.

anyway, this week the Lord has been reminding me of who He is through 2 Timothy 1:12 “For this reason I (Paul) also suffer these things; nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day.”

there are a lot of things going on in my life right now. there are about to be some big changes. and change is always a scary thing. the only way i can keep my head held high and attitude Christ-like is to stay close to Him. a lot of times i am weighed down by people or certain circumstances. sometimes i feel like a failure and things look so hopeless. but paul got it worse than i did. how can i not persevere in the time of droughts in my life? he kept his faith until his last breath and witnessed miracles to many around him. how can i not do the same thing?

anyway, yesterday, i ran into one of the LDP students whom i haven’t met for a while. she saw me waiting to catch a red truck home by the side of the road and said that she would give me a ride. so instead of going home, we went to our most favorite place, “salad concept”, where we each gulped down a huge plate of delicious veggies and meat and caught up in life. she told me about the karen leadership training camp at the siloam bible institute and that she was going to join the worship service and concert in the evening. the camp is a big event for karen youth leaders all over chiang-mai, and i think thailand. some of my church’s youth leaders are there. i kinda knew that they had this event coming up but wasn’t sure when and where and if they were open for outsiders. so i was glad that jib, the LDP student, mentioned about it and asked if i’d like to come along. of course! 🙂

there were so many people at the camp. and i was surprised at how many people i actually knew. christian community in thailand is already small. and when it comes to a certain minority group, it’s even smaller. i didn’t know a half of the people there but seeing familiar faces in another setting filled my heart with glee. and i couldn’t help but to stop and talk with them.

the camp’s theme is from ephesians 4:12, “for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ.” it is important that we realize we are the agents of God and that as one body with Christ as our head we can accomplish everything. they have got 1 more night left. i’m meeting up with my friends there tonight as well. 🙂

i think if i actually live among the karen people for just 2 weeks, my competency in karen language would go up to 40%. the saying “practice makes perfect” is never truer in my life.

anyway, it’s saturday morning. and there is no other agenda for me today except to get myself clean, fill water bottles and do some translation work. then in the evening is the worship service. yay! 🙂

actually, my love dare journey today is to call the person in mind and ask how he’s doing. it is quite dreadful as i’m not very good at talking on the phone…especially with this person. usually, i won’t call him unless i have “agendas”. but today’s dare is just to call him right up and see how he’s doing. i don’t know if there’ll be any words coming out of my lips. but 2 timothy 1:7 says that God hasn’t given us a spirit of fear but of power, love and self-control. so i just need to trust God and do my part, eh?

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

