In Christ Alone

“in Christ alone” is my all-time favorite song. ninety percent of the time i listen to or play it, i shed tears. there is that passionate message that moves me to tears…especially the last part:

no guilt in life; no fear in death

this is the power of Christ in me

from life’s first cry to final breath

Jesus commands my destiny

no power of hell; no scheme of man

can ever pluck me from His hand

’till He returns or calls me Home

here in the power of Christ i’ll stand

it captures the sole reason why we are here on earth. i don’t think that living life is surviving. we are not here to get by. we are here to fulfill whatever “short-term” purposes the Lord has given us for the ultimate purpose – to make Him known within ourselves and others.

this song is a comfort to me in times of troubles. it’s an affirmation that i am wholly His and He is wholly mine. and nothing can ever separate me from His love. my life is in His hand…and there is nothing i need to fear.

Jesus is so good. i am strengthened by His love. thus, no matter how daunting my situation…how difficult my challenge…how big my problem are, i am going to spend every breath worshipping and serving Him.

use your uniqueness to take great risks for God! if you’re great with kids, volunteer at the orphanage. if you have a head for business, start a soup kitchen. if God bent you toward medicine, dedicate a day or a decade to AIDS patients.

He lavished you with strengths…go out on a limb; He won’t let you fall…He invites you to dream of the day you feel His hand on your shoulder and His eyes on your face. “well done,” He will say, “good and faithful servant”.

from “cure for the common life” by max lucado

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

One response to “In Christ Alone

Leave a Reply

