For I Know That God Is Good…Always

for this past week, one of the messages i’ve heard over and over again is about “taking risks to make things happen”. i don’t know if it’s just me choosing to hear what i wanted to hear only or it’s God who feels like this girl is just so deaf and dumb.

there are many things in life i consider it has come to the point of change. either moving forward or changing direction. i must admit that i’m a bit confused and scared…not by the changes but by my own uncertainty. like mentioned above, is it me or the Spirit?

i’ve fretted over the interview for a new job’s position here at compassion for a few days now. it’s taking place this afternoon (so if you’re reading this now, please pray). somehow i imagined 4 big monsters towering over me with their sharp teeth and glaring fiery eyes. ‘~’ silly of me, i know. but interview has always been intimidating.

then as i sat down at my desk and opened my devotional book, the first part of psalm 37:4 caught my eyes,

delight yourself in the Lord,

that sounds easy to say but hard to do. and how? so i read on….

and He shall give you the desires of your heart.

well, now i definitely wanted to know HOW!

here is a quoted paragraph from “warren w. wiersebe”‘s the twenty essential qualities:

this promise is not carte blanche to get what we want from God just because we belong to His family. david is saying that, if we truly delight in the Lord, we will want to know Him better; and the better we know Him, the more we will become like Him. His desires will become our desires, and our greatest desires will be to know Him even more and enjoy Him in an ever-deepening way.

when i first thought of the desires of my heart, i thought of material and tangible things like a car, the guitar and something i truly wanted but haven’t yet acquired like a boyfriend. these are all to feed my flesh and ego.

but that means i’m positioning myself in a wrong place. for this life isn’t about me or what i want. it’s about God and what He wants. i’m also not saying that i’m ripped off of my rights to be happy or to get what i want. rather, it’s exactly the point why it has to be about Him and His desires.

matthew 19:17 says, “there is only One who is good. if you want to enter life, obey the commandments.”

1 timothy 4:4-5 says, “for everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer.” 

and psalm 145:9, “the Lord is good to all; He has compassion on all He has made.”

this is the reason why it is about God and not me – because the Lord IS GOOD. i can trust that whatever things may happen, His will for me will always be good. His plan is not to harm me but to prosper me. and i hold on to this promise.

thus, knowing this in mind, i’m rested and still. how the interview will go; how the results may be, i know that the Lord is good. His goodness abounds and never ends.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

One response to “For I Know That God Is Good…Always

Leave a Reply

