My Temporary Home

“This is my temporary home
It’s not where I belong
Windows and rooms that I’m passin’ through
This is just a stop, on the way to where I’m going
I’m not afraid because I know this is my
Temporary Home.”

the chorus from carrie underwood’s song “my temporary home” touches my heart this morning. i, with entangled thoughts and worried mind, experienced the hopeful glimpse beyond this world. job concerns and relationship problems aren’t that huge compared to the greater Home awaiting me anymore.

it is true that every human is made for something far better than here. deep in our hearts, our longing for the Creator…to be intimate with Him who loves us without the flaw of sins…is there. the world has coated us with exhaustive materials and false power that our hearts have been numb and cold to the true passion we were created for.

but pray that God would remove every veil…every hinderance…from your heart and open your whole self to what He truly has in mind. the Lord had done it to me this morning through this music video. but before you watch, please read this scripture. don’t rush it. go through each line slowly and let the truth sink into your heart.

The Government of Death, its constitution chiseled on stone tablets, had a dazzling inaugural. Moses’ face as he delivered the tablets was so bright that day (even though it would fade soon enough) that the people of Israel could no more look right at him than stare into the sun. How much more dazzling, then, the Government of Living Spirit?

If the Government of Condemnation was impressive, how about this Government of Affirmation? Bright as that old government was, it would look downright dull alongside this new one. If that makeshift arrangement impressed us, how much more this brightly shining government installed for eternity?

 With that kind of hope to excite us, nothing holds us back. Unlike Moses, we have nothing to hide. Everything is out in the open with us. He wore a veil so the children of Israel wouldn’t notice that the glory was fading away—and they didn’t notice. They didn’t notice it then and they don’t notice it now, don’t notice that there’s nothing left behind that veil. Even today when the proclamations of that old, bankrupt government are read out, they can’t see through it. Only Christ can get rid of the veil so they can see for themselves that there’s nothing there.

 Whenever, though, they turn to face God as Moses did, God removes the veil and there they are—face-to-face! They suddenly recognize that God is a living, personal presence, not a piece of chiseled stone. And when God is personally present, a living Spirit, that old, constricting legislation is recognized as obsolete. We’re free of it! All of us! Nothing between us and God, our faces shining with the brightness of his face. And so we are transfigured much like the Messiah, our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like him. (2 corinthians 3:7-18, the Message)

with our unveiled faces, we shine the Creator’s glory and continue to be transformed into His likeness with ever-increasing glory.

while we’re waiting for our eternal Home, Christ the King humbly made His home within us…in this world.

so, with a sigh, eyes turned towards His face, i unclench my hands…let go of the grip i’ve held so tightly…and gently lay my life down before Him.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

One response to “My Temporary Home

  • Juli Jarvis

    Thank you Mink — this is wonderful! I was just reading a devotional this morning about Romans 12:1. The devotional said this: “Have you noticed that this verse does not tell us to whom we should give our bodies? It is not the Lord Jesus…He has His own body. It is not God the Father…He remains upon His throne. Another has come to earth without a body…God gives you the privilege and the indescribable honor of presenting your bodies to the Holy Spirit, to be His dwelling place on earth.” Then he gave this prayer: “My Lord, I have mistreated You all my Christian life. I have treated You like a servant…I shall do so no more. Just now I give You this body of mine; from my head to my feet. I give You my hands, my limbs, my eyes and lips, my brain; all that I am within and without, I hand over to You for You to live in it the life that You please. You may send this body to Africa, or lay it on a bed with cancer…It is Your body from this moment on. Help Yourself to it. Thank You, my Lord. I believe You have accepted it, for in Romans twelve You said, ‘acceptable unto God.'” This was from the One Year Book of Christian History, and this particular quote was from 1914. I thought it went along perfectly with what you have here. Powerful!

Leave a Reply

