Phitsanuloke: Day 1

i am in phitsanuloke, a province rich in culture and thick with diversities. the first moment i stepped out of the bus, i felt the warmer breeze touch my face. while waiting for a friend to pick me up at the bus station, a robust lady with dark skin and big brown eyes, who sold me 2 sticks of meatballs, was telling me about the daily happening at her little kiosk and showing me who is who. in that brief 15 minutes, i am sure i got to know most of the important stuff to survive here. 🙂

my friend called and asked me to wait by the front of the bus station. i clumsily walked there with a backpack on my shoulders and a big camera back on one hand. as i started looking around, wondering where she was, a group of 4 delightful girls ran towards my way. i was still a bit disoriented so i wasn’t sure if i should recognize them or not. of course, they were the girls that p.nok, my friend and the project staff, is taking care of.

the girls came to welcome me with such warmth and cheerfulness that i felt like i’d known them for a very long time. they took me to the car and introduced themselves to me, one by one. rachel, a shy 7-year-old girl with eyes that wonder about life; omo and ice, 12-year-old girls who are blooming with curiosity and jeab, a 15-year-old young lady filled with confidence and jokes. each of them has their own story to tell. and i am here to find out from one of them.

i am grateful to be here. i am thankful for the opportunities to be a part of the people’s lives i am about to interview. they are willing to share their stories with me…and i’d like to do my best to communicate them.

please pray that God would give me the wisdom to know what to ask during the interview; the eyes to see the beauty of the people when i take pictures and the heart to understand the struggles they have gone through and the comfort i can give through sharing God’s love with them.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

