I Miss…

…the huay bong village. that deep yearning…that longing for something unreachable is there. although i struggled with the language and the concept of self-worth, the place drew me nearer to God. every night, i would look forward to shut the wooden door behind me, crawled into the mosquito net and laid myself down on the hard mattress. i was eager for the moment because i knew that i would meet God there. in my sorrow and fear; in my disappointment with people and pain, the Spirit revealed Himself so tangibly to me.

in the dark room, under my flashlight, i pored over His comfort and promises. they were alive and spoke to me directly. i treasure such moments. this desire is indescribable. but imagine…when you have met with God, when everything else fades, and you know that this is ultimately “the” moment…and then you’re back to the normal, you just consistently want to be back there again with the one you love. i guess that’s a rough version of what i feel.

yes, the condition was tough. i was bitten by lice and insects. the enjoyment in leisure time wasn’t air-conditioned malls or internet but the interaction with neighbors, the run in open fields in the morning and the sit by the creek with breeze kissing cheeks.

but, surprisingly, i was okay with it.

i found Him not only in my dark bedroom or on my wet pillow but also in the cracks and wrinkles of the elderly’s ancient faces, the infant’s cackle, the moo of cows and water buffalos, the 6 smelly fish and 3 lemongrass, the sincere apology of the one i’ve come to appreciate and love and the foreign conversation i’m still getting used to. through the people and adventures, i experienced God’s love.

the knitted connection between people and nature is what the Lord intends for me. it helps me to understand the triune God better. we can’t be without one another.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

