Prayer For My Sponsored Children

never once in my life i wished to be a mom until that day…when i met my two sponsored children and their older brother. their bright brown eyes turned my whole world upside down. their beautiful innocent smile melted my heart. and all i wanted to do was to be with them there. i never thought i would fall in love with someone this much.

so here is my humble tribute…and a gift…to my beloved.

Image

“My child, I love you. I wish I could take a better care of you. To know how to comfort you when you cry, to be more confident in caring for you when you are sick, to be able to feed you every meal when you are hungry, to have the authority to teach you as you journey along this life and to introduce you to our loving Father who will never fail you even though I may depart from you. I long to protect you from harm and shield you from the harshness of injustice. You are gifts from God. I never imagined I could love someone this much…to break for you and to be this willing to intervene so you can live a better life. Yet I know that God put you there for a reason. You are in good hands. The church, the teachers and the project staff are there to protect and look after you. Though I wish I could take you to be my adopted children, I would never ever take you away from your father, the one who loves you most.

Maw Too Nae, Majeetuay, Mana-A… I love you from the deepest part of my heart. Many times in the past, I foolishly said this without understanding much of its meaning, but I do now. I love you so much that my heart breaks to thousand pieces when I see you suffer. But you piece it all back together with your smile and naïve eyes. You give me hope and fuel my passion to serve our Father better so that children like you will be safe from harm and live life to the fullest as God intended for you to do.

Maw Too Nae, when I first saw you, I fell in love with you. I asked you what you want to be and you said that you want to be a soldier because you want to be great among men. My prayer for you is that you will seek to be great in the eye of God and not men. May your desire to be powerful does not corrupt your kind heart but that it will lead you to serve great causes for our Father’s children in the future. May you never abuse the power God will have given you. I pray for a strong male role model in your life so that you will be able to learn from him and imitate him. May Jesus Christ be your first role model. May your kindness and courage bless those around you, especially the needy.

Majeetuay, you are a beloved child of God. This, no one can take away. You are beautiful inside and out. You have a humble spirit and a heart to serve. Your honesty and faithfulness are your strong traits. May you never lose them. Even though others may see them as foolishness, do not trade these characters with anything less. God has given you these gifts to bring transformation in your nation in the future. May the Lord’s face shine upon you and may His favor be your guidance. I do not know how He will use you. But hold on to Him and His word. He will never let you down. You will make a great doctor, my dear.

Mana-A, you are free-spirited as a butterfly, beautiful as a dove and yet bold as a lion. May you fear our Father, who created all the beautiful things in this world. Today and forever. You want to be a teacher. I believe that you will use your creativity in making this world more beautiful through teaching and mentoring your future students. May your determination and strong will bring transformation in this crooked society. I pray that the Lord would guard your steps as you roam freely in His world. May you find freedom and liberation in Jesus Christ. May you be an agent of change.

Dear child, I will do everything I can, in my power, to help, to serve and to love you. Thank you for inspiring me. You make me a better woman.” 

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

