Companionship

It was a quiet morning, and I was almost ready for work. I tied my hair up in a tidy pony tail. While I was putting my earrings on, I heard a voice behind me.”Hey, Mink.” I turned and looked – in his hands was a small navy blue box with some silver letters on it. Joel said, “I know you’ve been missing New Zealand a lot lately so I wanted you to wear this,” and he handed me this beautiful necklace with the dark green stone pendant that he got from New Zealand.

IMG_4869

His observation and thoughtfulness made me realize that I have been blessed with the most wonderful gift of all – the companionship of my husband. The necklace means a lot to  me because it is a symbol of my husband’s care and love but the greatest gift on this Valentine’s Day is this wonderful man I can call husband. He is the person who encourages the wild side of me but who also stills me with his warm embrace. He is the one who always challenges me to keep stretching myself but accepts me just the way I am. He is the man who has patiently listened to my rant, danced with me in the kitchen, hidden love notes all over the house, chased after me when I am angry, seen the ugliest part of me and still does not love me less.

So today I give thanks for this beautiful gift that God has blessed me with. It is mind-blowing still that I get to keep this present for the rest of my life. This marriage. This companionship.

Even though we did not celebrate the Valentine’s Day with roses or candlelight dinner (in fact, in our tired state, we just lied on the couch with chips and beer), I am thankful for so many meals that we get to sit across each other, all this spare time we have so we can spontaneously go to movies or coffee, and this adventure that God has taken us to different places so we can explore together and learn about each other.

Here’s to the man who knows me in all her glory and shame – I love you, Joel. You are a man of strength and resilience. You have endured more hardships that I can ever imagine going through yet you still face the world with such joy, liveliness and excitement. Thank you for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th chances that you have given to me; and thank you for bringing positivity and new perspective into my life. May we continue to depend on God and follow him together in obedience. May we enjoy this togetherness for as long as it lasts. I look forward to many more laugh, dance, fart and even tears, fight and argument…because I get to do it with you.

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a Reply

