6 Years Anniversary

“My love,

Here I am typing this on my phone in bed. It is definitely not the most exciting day we have had. Church in the morning. Three hours nap with Elly. Playground in the afternoon. Takeaway pizza and only a few sips of wine for dinner. Then shower time for Elly and both of us are just ready to pass out for the day. No, love, we are definitely not young and spontaneous as we used to be. But boy, I do not wish to do life any other way with you.

We were watching the news of Prince Phillip’s passing last night. One of the things the Queen said of her late husband that really resonated with me was how he had always been her “strength and stay”. In times of weakness, you have been my strength. You offered words of wisdom and insights when I wanted to be bitter and vengeful. You did the dishes and cleaned the floor when I was too overwhelmed to do it even though it was my turn. You prodded and you pushed me into the direction I had wanted to but was afraid to take a leap. And you have exceeded all my expectations as a-stay-at-home dad. Elly is so blessed to have such an enriching time with you early on in life.

Thank you for all that you are and for all that you do. Thank you for being my other half and my home. I pray for many more years with you, doing life, going on adventures, making love, having fun and serving God together. I love you with all of my heart. Happy Anniversary, dearest Joel.”

About Mink Gough

"No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined the things that God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Corinthians 2:9 View all posts by Mink Gough

Leave a comment